LEYBURN MEDICAL PRACTICE PATIENT PARTICIPATION GROUP ANNUAL REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE 2015-16

MEMBERSHIP

Your Committee members have been Nigel Watson (Chair), Geoff Linehan (Vice-Chair), David Bolam, Mary Buglass, Tom Crosier, June Stancombe and Bill Wilson. June Stancombe has been acting as our secretary during the year.

MEETINGS

We met six times during the year. As well as the work programme mentioned below, we were kept up to date with developments inside the practice, and discussed other issues such as

- The extension of the medical centre
- Online access to health records
- Patient transport
- Telephone triage

WORK PROGRAMME

Raising awareness remains our main challenge. Talks were given by Tom Crosier on medicine and digital technology and by David Bolam on the ambulance service. We also had talks from Jonathan Langhorne and Mick Rayner on the local community pharmacy, Mary Jo Pearson on the new practice website and Pete Shaw on the paramedic service.

Committee members have continued to try and keep the notice board up to date and fresh. We have recently added a poster about patient transport and an information sheet on patient transport available from reception. If any patient wishes to see information on any specific issue promoted on the board, please contact a committee member.

Once again please remember the importance of making your views known which help the practice to make service improvements.

Our third annual **Open Evening** was held in June, again to coincide with National PPG Awareness Week. It was well-attended, with a number of new attendees, and featured a presentation by Janet Probert, Chief Officer of the Clinical Commissioning Group.

Please take time to read the minutes of the Committee's meetings, which are placed on the practice website. The Chair would welcome any comments from patients on any aspect of the practice. These can be sent directly to him through the e-mail address given on the website or by letters left with the receptionist.

THANKS

Once again we would like to thank Stephen Brown and his colleagues for their help and advice during the year. We would also like to thank Mary Buglass and Tom Crosier who are standing down from the Committee.

Nigel Watson

Chair

Nov 2016